Announcing WSSCC’s 2017 Webinar Series #1: Sanitation-related Psychosocial Stress and the Effects on Women and Girls

Date: 17th February 2017

Array ( [0] => WP_Term Object ( [term_id] => 9 [name] => Equality [slug] => equality [term_group] => 0 [term_taxonomy_id] => 9 [taxonomy] => category [description] => [parent] => 0 [count] => 126 [filter] => raw [term_order] => 2 [cat_ID] => 9 [category_count] => 126 [category_description] => [cat_name] => Equality [category_nicename] => equality [category_parent] => 0 ) )

WSSCC will celebrate Women’s Week for International Women’s Day 2017 from March 6 – 10. Ahead of this, a webinar session will explore the ways in which women experience stress during their sanitation routine: Thursday 2 March 2017 from 2pm – 3pm (CET) (8-9am New York; 1-2pm London; 2-3pm Brussels; 3-4pm Johannesburg; 4-5pm Nairobi; 6:30-7:30pm Mumbai)

REGISTRATION:

Please register here: bit.ly/2lrsUvd

Do you know what the main stressors are for women and girls during their daily sanitation routines?  How do they cope with them?

On March 2nd, the Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council will host the first in a series of four webinars for 2017. This session will discuss the psychological, social, and health impacts of sanitation routines among women of reproductive age in urban slums, rural villages and indigenous villages.

Using the life-course approach, during the hour-long session participants will be guided to understand the influence of age, context and social processes on a woman’s experience and family life, and how those factors collectively impact the experience of sanitation. The conceptual model of sanitation-related psychosocial stress will also be shared.

Available on the Skype for Business platform, the session will be presented by Dr. Kathleen O’Reilly, Associate Professor at Texas A&M University, and Dr. Krushna Chandra Sahoo from the Asian Institute of Public Health. The Moderator is Archana Patkar, Programme Manager, Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council.

The webinar series is open to governments, experts, practitioners and trainers in sanitation and hygiene; academia and research institutions and civil society partners.

A session will take place every quarter during the year in the form of an hour-long webinar with invited experts, in English. The format is a 15-minute presentation followed by interactive Q&A sessions.

Reading ahead:  If you would like to know more about the topic ahead of the discussion, here are two relevant readings.

  1. Sanitation-related psychosocial stress: A grounded theory study of women across the life-course in Odisha, India
  2. Briefing note on “Social and psychological impact of limited access to sanitation”

Related News

Presenting the Council’s documents and reports on Gender and WASH

We list some of our studies that evidence the links between poor sanitation and psycho-social stress

The universal nature of psycho social stress related to poor or inadequate sanitation is raised in this webinar

Findings of a new UN Women/WSSCC study in Niger on MHM practices were presented at a side event during CSW61.